What does alkaline phosphate mean?

An alkaline phosphatase (ALP) test measures the amount of ALP in your blood. Although ALP exists throughout your body, the two main sources of ALP in your blood are your liver and bones. High levels of ALP may indicate liver disease or certain bone disorders.