At what age is a person considered elderly?

Elderly is typically a senior. Some dictionaries define "senior citizen" as a person over the age of 65. In everyday speech, the term is often shortened to “senior.” In legislation, the term applies to the age at which pensions, social security or medical benefits for the elderly become available.