How fast is the speed of sound?

The speed of sound iin dry air at 20 °C is 343 m / s

---

The speed of sound depends on altitude and air density. At sea level it's about 761 miles per hour. At 10,000 feet it's 734 miles per hour and at 20,000 feet it's about 706 miles per hour.