Why do firehouses have dalmatians?

Dalmatians and horses are very compatible, so the dogs were easily trained to run in front of the engines to help clear a path and guide the horses and the firefighters to the fires quickly. They are still chosen by many fire fighters as pets in honor of their heroism in the past.

---

Dalmatians were originally bred to run with carriage horses to help keep the horses calm. They performed the same function for fire trucks when they were drawn by horses. When fire trucks became motorized, dalmatians remained as a mascot for fire departments.