What do hummingbirds eat in the winter?

Hummingbirds will consume any insects they encounter to help them meet their protein, vitamin and mineral requirements. Insects can be found under bark and plants even during winter cold periods.

---

Hummingbirds migrate from cold to warmer climates in late autumn. They continue to eat insects and plant nectar, which isn't as abundant during the winter months.