What is the jasper?

Manhattan Jaspers, are composed of 19 teams, representing Manhattan College. Brother Jasper noticed the students becoming restless & edgy in the seventh inning of a close baseball game. To relieve tension, he called time-out & told the students to stand up &stretch, creating the 7th inning stretch