When did color movie start?

The generally accepted answer to the first film shot in color was "Cupid Angling" made in 1918, the Wizard or Oz and Gone With The Wind were made in Technicolor in 1939, a process that had been around for quite some time by then. There were hand colored segments in movies dating back to 1902.