Why is coffee so delicious?

Without its smell, coffee would have only a sour or bitter taste due to the organic acids. Try it with your next cup of coffee. Hold your nose as you take your first sip. The rich satisfying sensation of coffee is almost entirely due to the volatile compounds produced when we roast coffee beans.