Why do they call it the sun?

The word sun comes from the Old English word sunne, which comes from the older Proto-Germanic language's word sunnōn. In ancient times the Sun was widely seen as a god, and the name for Sun was the name of that god. Ancient Greeks called the Sun Helios, and the word is used to describe the Sun..