Who invented the monte cristo sandwich?

Most food historians generally think that the Monte Cristo sandwich is a variation of a French dish called Croque Monsieur (invented by Michel Lunarca, 1901) and it appeared in various American cookbooks under different names as early as the 1930s - no one person is credited with its creation.