How are the forest fires doing?

As of August 1, 2022, fifty-five large fires and complexes have burned 1,580,475 acres in 13 states. Four new large fires were reported, two in Texas, one in Nebraska, and one in Oregon. More than 8,500 wildland firefighters and support personnel are assigned to incidents across the country.