What makes vinegar?

Vinegar is an acidic liquid produced through the fermentation of ethanol by acetic acid bacteria.

---

Vinegar is essentially a dilute solution of acetic (ethanoic) acid in water. Acetic acid is produced by the oxidation of ethanol by acetic acid bacteria, and, in most countries, commercial production involves a double fermentation where the ethanol is produced by the fermentation of sugars by yeast.