What's a pair of bola?

A bola is a weapon that consists of a number of balls connected by a strong cord, and when you throw it, it will tangle up the limbs of the target (according to Oxford Dictionary). If you have two of them, you have a pair of bola.

---

A parabola is a symmetrical, curved, U-shaped graph.