What's the temperature in the lava?

When lava first erupts from a volcanic vent, it can get as hot as 1300 to 2200 degrees Fahrenheit. Minerals in lava determine how hot it gets. There are three different lavas; the coolest is felsic lava, then andesitic. The hottest, Basaltic lava, erupts at temperatures above 1742 degrees F.