What's an arc storm?

What's an arc storm? An ARkStorm is a "megastorm" scenario proposed based on repeated historical occurrences of atmospheric rivers and other major rain events, 1st developed and published by the Multi-Hazards Demonstration Project (MHDP) of the USGS in 2010 and updated as ARkStorm 2.0 in 2022

---

An arc storm is a weather phenomenon that is characterized by a series of lightning strikes that occur in rapid succession over a short period of time. These storms can produce a large number of lightning strikes in a relatively small area, and they are often accompanied by strong wind and rain.