Why is the joshua tree called a joshua tree?

Joshua trees were named by the mid-19th century Mormon travellers as they made their way across the Colorado River. The trees reminded them of Joshua when he took the role of the leader after Moses died. He raised his arms to God in supplication and the tree reminded of this event to the Pioneers.