How can you break bedrock?

According to researchers, ancient people filled cracks in rock with wood pegs, then added water. As the wood expanded, it would crack the rock. Ice forming in water will have the same effect. Modern engineers use explosives.

---

With a hammer large enough to break the size of rock you have. Sometimes you will also need a chisel.