When were dill pickles invented?

Pickles have been around thousands of years, dating as far back as 2030 BC when cucumbers from their native India were pickled in the Tigris Valley. Ancient Mesopotamians began soaking cucumbers in acidic brine, as a way to preserve them. Pickles were first brought to America by Christopher Columbus