What's the difference between a serrano and a jalapeno?

In general, a serrano pepper is about 5 times hotter/spicier than a jalapeno. On the Scoville Heat Unit scale (SCU), the jalapeno is 2,500-10,000 and the serrano is 10,000-20,000.