What is shabbu shabbu?

Shabu-shabu is a Japanese nabemono hotpot dish of thinly sliced meat and vegetables boiled in water & served with dipping sauces. The term is onomatopoeic, derived from the sound emitted when the ingredients are stirred in the cooking pot. The food is cooked piece by piece by the diner at the table.