How many kings and queens are in the world?

As of 2022, there are 43 sovereign states in the world with a monarch as head of state. There are 13 in Asia, 12 in Europe, 9 in the Americas, 6 in Oceania, and 3 in Africa. Not all monarchs are kings and queens. Some have other titles including Pope Francis, who is the monarch of the Vatican City.