How do you prepare acorns?

To prepare palatable acorns, crack them out of their shell and break any large pieces into "pea-sized" chunks. Then soak chunks in cold, warm, or even hot water to remove the bitter, irritating tannic acid. Note that some books instruct us to boil acorns, but this locks in some of the bitterness.