What is an example of sublimation?

Sublimation is a change of state when a solid skips the liquid phase and moves directly into the gas phase. This occurs because the substance absorbs energy so quickly from the surroundings that melting never occurs. One example is dry ice (or solid carbon dioxide) at room temperature.