Why do indians shake their head?

It can serve as an alternative to thank you, as a polite introduction, or it can represent acknowledgement.

---

Most commonly used as a sign to show that what's being said is understood, it can also serve as an alternative to thank you, a polite introduction, or represents acknowledgement. An unenthusiastic head bobble can be a polite way of declining something without saying no directly