Where did the name corvette come from?

A corvette is a French-derived name for a small maneuverable warship - in fact it's the smallest class of vessel that can be considered a proper warship. In 1953 Myron Scott, the assistant public relations director at Chevrolet, suggested that they name their newest class of sports car for it.