How do you teach your dog how to lay down?

Teaching your dog to lay down starts with teaching your dog to sit. Once your dog can sit without hesitation, start the down training. While dog is sitting, say "down" and gently pull front paws out. This is something your dog already knows how to do, by repeating it several times it is reinforced