Are there black widow spiders in connecticut?

Black widows may be found in Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and the southern parts of Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont. However, true black widow spider sightings or bites are uncommon in New England. If a black widow spider bites, do not panic!