What was the first tool?

The first stone tools were made by early humans, Australopithecus, in Africa about 2.5 million years ago; and were discovered by Mary and Louis Leakey in Tanzania. These tools were likely used for hammering, chopping, digging, and the most important tools were sharp-edged stones used as knives.