What was the appendix used for?

According to web m.d., The function of the appendix is unknown. One theory is that the appendix acts as a storehouse for good bacteria, “rebooting” the digestive system after diarrheal illnesses. Other experts believe the appendix is just a useless remnant from our evolutionary past.

---

Currently there are 2 scientific theories in regards of usefulness of the appendix. Per one the appendix is just a useless remnant from our evolutionary past, while other theory is, that the appendix acts as a storage for good bacteria, to help reboot the digestive system after diarrheal illnesses.