What is a stride pianist?

Harlem stride piano, or stride piano, is a jazz piano style that was developed in the large cities of the East Coast of the United States during the 1920s and 1930s. Stride pianists took the basic left-hand rhythm of ragtime, but played it with more swing, while the right hand played the melody.