What is the neapolitan mastiff?

The Neapolitan Mastiff or Mastino is a large dog breed from Italy. This massive breed is often used as a guard dog and defender of family and property due to their protective instincts and their fearsome appearance. Males can weigh up to 150 pounds and females up to 130 pounds.