What's a relative adverb?

The relative adverbs where, when & why can be used to join sentences or clauses. They replace the more formal structure of preposition + which used to introduce a relative clause.

---

A relative adverb is a subordinating conjunction that introduces an adverb clause. Examples are: where, when, and why.