How powerful are gamma rays?

Gamma-ray photons have the highest energy in the EMR spectrum. Scientists measure the energy of photons in electron volts (eV). X-ray photons have energies in the range 100 eV to 100,000 eV (or 100 keV). Gamma-ray photons generally have energies greater than 100 keV.