What year did mario lemieux retire?

On January 24, 2006, Lemieux announced his second and permanent retirement from professional hockey at the age of 40. This followed a half-season in which he struggled not only with the increased speed of the "new NHL" but also with atrial fibrillation, in which he experienced irregular heartbeats.

---

January 24,2006