What is the difference between the internet and the world wide web?

The internet is network of connected devices that communicate over a number of protocols such as http, https, ftp, ntp, dns, etc. representing different forms of communications. The world wide web primarily refers to a subset of the Internet consisting of web pages and web-based applications.