What makes a beer a lager?

Lagers are uniquely identified by the yeast strain use during fermentation. The yeast called Saccharomyces pastorianus, is a bottom fermenting yeast. It thrives at lower temperatures than ale, typically between 42 and 55 degrees Fahrenheit. This yeast ferments slower than ale yeast.