How do you get vomit out of a carpet?

Start by scraping off excess vomit. Then sprinkle baking soda or cornstarch on the stain to soak up as much puke as possible. Let stand 10 to 15 minutes before vacuuming. Next, mix one tablespoon of hand dishwashing detergent, and one tablespoon of white vinegar with two cups of warm water.