How many hearts do you need to get the master sword?

To get the Master Sword, you'll need 13 full heart containers. No temporary hearts. You need 10 Heart Containers in addition to the three hearts you start with from the beginning.

---

To get the Master Sword in Zelda, you will need thirteen full heart containers.