What is the origin of puss in boots?

Puss in Boots is an Italian fairy tale. The oldest written version Is by Italian author Giovanni Francesco Straparola. Variations of the original stories are found across multiple cultures often with jackals, foxes, coyote, or monkeys replacing the cat character.