What dog is odie?

What dog is odie? Odie is the dog from Garfield. According to the Garfield Wiki, he is a yellow-furred, brown-eared beagle. In a comic strip in August 26, 2007, Garfield describes Odie as a purebred clown. In the live action films Odie was played by dachshunds.