What happens if you give a dog catnip?

Although the name “catnip” itself makes us assume that it's meant specifically for cats, catnip is fine for dogs, too. ... With its tranquilizing effect, yes it can actually calm pets. Catnip is a safe herbal remedy for dogs. You can use it to help with nervousness and sleeplessness in many animals