What is the success rate of bariatric surgery?

Patients may lose 30 to 50 percent of their excess weight in the first six months, and 77 percent of excess weight as early as 12 months after surgery. Another study showed that patients could maintain a 50 to 60 percent loss of excess weight 10 to 14 years after surgery.