Is an eclipse dangerous?

Solar eclipses require you to wear eye protection to look at, and can damage your eyes and even some photography equipments. However, unlike solar eclipses, lunar eclipses are safe to view without any eye protection or special precautions, as they are dimmer than the full Moon.