Why are skunks smelly?

Skunks have two glands, one on each side of the anus. These glands produce the skunk's spray which is a thiol, an organic compound with sulfur as a principal component and has an offensive odor. Muscles located next to the scent glands allow them to spray with a high degree of accuracy.