What was the biggest natural disaster in history?

1138 CE Aleppo earthquake On Oct. 11, 1138, the ground under the Syrian city began to shake. The city sits on the confluence of the Arabian and African plates, making it prone to temblors, but this one was particularly nasty. The death toll of this quake is typically put at about 230,000.