What does it mean to lose your faculties?

Loss of faculties can be a result of injury, illness or old age. Loss of physical faculties says the person has lost mobility. Loss of mental faculties says the person is no longer capable of making decisions for themselves.

---

To lose your faculties can be physical or mental. It is the loss of function of an organ or part of the body causing an inability to perform said function.