When did the three point shot in basketball start?

The ABA started in 1967. The NBA didn't adopt the 3-pointer until 1979. While certain college basketball conferences experimented with it in the early '80s, the NCAA didn't universally implement a 3-point line until 1986, with high school basketball following suit a year later.