Why is a quarterback called a quarterback?

Quarterback was the player on offense who got the ball first. Fullback, although formerly a fast player (and punter) on offense and defense, got to be a heavy back. When the positions of these players changed, the names stuck according to those roles after the geometry no longer applied.