How does the federal reserve work?

How does the federal reserve work? Federal Reserve Banks distribute currency and coin to banks, lend money to banks, and process electronic payments. Workers' paychecks and checks written to pay mortgages and most other bills were sent to 1 of the 12 Reserve Banks, for processing.