What is japanese mayonnaise?

Japanese Mayonnaise is a little different than American mayo, because it's made with only egg yolks—not whole eggs—and with rice or apple vinegar and no added salt or sugar.

---

Japanese mayonnaise has a rich egg flavor because only egg yolks are used compared to the western mayo that contains entire egg. Also, Japanese mayo is typically made with rice vinegar or apple cider vinegar, instead of distilled vinegar.